$@%&#!!!!!

March 26, 2009 at 8:33 pm 12 comments

Disaster!!

I mentioned in this post that I had recently cast on on another knitting project. I had been knitting a Falling Leaves Wrap for my mother-in-law’s birthday last week. After ten days of knitting, I only had about three inches of the wrap left to knit plus some fringe to add. Here is what it looked like earlier:

If you knit and you know that this is a work in progress, you might look at that picture and ask, “Hmmm. But where are the needles?”

EXACTLY.

The boy has a horrible obsession with playing with my knitting. After many close calls in the past, I’ve warned him repeatedly that under no circumstances is he allowed to even breathe on my knitting, yarn or needles. Of course he never listens but I’m decently good at keeping my stuff out of his reach. Except that after a six hour knitting stretch that ended at 2:30 am this morning, in my sleep-deprived knitting haze I didn’t bother to hide my work before going to bed. Cue the boy and his grabby hands this morning. He pulled the needle out and left all of my live stitches hanging onto nothing. Nothing! I tried slipping the stitches onto a needle to try to salvage some of the wrap, but no go. It’s lacework:

so it’s really difficult to pick up all those yarnovers, decreases and slipped stitches once you’ve let them go — which is why smart people use a lifeline — so it’s back to the drawing board for me.

I can’t even begin to describe how angry I was when I realized that I had to frog the thing and start over. Furious doesn’t even come close. Irrational, enraged, unintelligible and foaming at the mouth is a bit more like it. I actually threw a full-on tantrum complete with AAAARRRRRGGGHHHH!!!’s, flying needles and yarn and a torrent of f-bombs. Perhaps I may have overreacted, but it was 10 days of work! And so close to finishing too! That’s 573 yards, or 1/3 of a mile, of fingering weight merino wool knit for absolutely nothing.

Luckily for Noah, Clarita had taken him to the play area but poor Mark had just gotten home from a trip to Singapore when I discovered what Noah had done and he basically cowered in a corner while I screamed and threw stuff. After about 10 minutes of raging, he was nice enough to come along with me on my walk to Starbucks so I could calm down a bit (because everyone knows that what an enraged lunatic needs most is more caffeine). We ended up catching a movie instead, Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (which if you want a quick review was mindless entertainment but loads better than the second Underworld movie and better even than The Watchmen. Because yeah, I thought The Watchmen was that bad). Afterward I was in a much better mood and less determined to put Noah in timeout until I finished another wrap.  Hopefully I can finish another wrap before we see my in-laws in DC in two weeks.  Besides, when you come home and the boy flashes you this look:

It’s a little hard to stay mad.

Entry filed under: Knitting, Stuff About Me.

A Leisurely Saturday Weekend Stuff

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alicia  |  March 26, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    Oh man, Cathy, that just totally sucks. I’d be livid, too. It looked really pretty, so I hope the next one comes out just as good.

    Reply
  • 2. whatsupwiththejoneses  |  March 26, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    OMG…I think the temper tantrum was deserved. I can’t imagine…

    Reply
  • 3. cello85  |  March 26, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    wow knitting looks so complicated…I don’t have the patience for such an intricate craft.

    Reply
  • 4. projectsanchez  |  March 27, 2009 at 12:34 am

    Aww, that totally sucks eggs! Reminds me of the many times in college where I forgot to hit “save” after an all-night writing session. Sooo frustrating.

    It’s too bad Noah wasn’t home – maybe seeing mommy fly into a “foam at the mouth” rage will convince him not to touch the needles next time.

    Reply
  • 5. Jessica  |  March 27, 2009 at 12:44 am

    I would have been irate, I’m glad Mark had the sense to let you have your tantrum and then take you out. Good man.

    Reply
  • 6. mimi  |  March 27, 2009 at 2:36 am

    oh no…. I feel sick for you — I really do. I hate having to take out one row — let alone the whole thing!

    And thanks for the lifeline tip — I’ll be using that for sure!

    oh… I just feel so sick for you!

    Reply
  • 7. lianne  |  March 27, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    i would have had the same reaction, or worse. one time when i was learning Photoshop, i accidently deleted a few days’ worth of work and i had a crying fit. and that was only maybe 3 days of work, not 10.

    “Running With Scissors” is one of my favorite books! also make sure to read “Dry” also by Burroughs, it’s amazing.

    Reply
  • 8. jae  |  March 27, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    Wow, that is beautiful! That is totally infuriating… I don’t even know what to say except oh my gooood.

    I hope you can pump out another one in time!

    Reply
  • 9. Sara  |  March 28, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    I’ve so been there. Ry knows, with the threat of death or dismemberment, to leave my crap alone. I don’t know about you, but I cry after having to un-knit three or four balls of yarn because someone else f’ed it up. What’s even worse though is when I do it to myself. That happens more often.

    Good to know about underworld because I hated Watchmen too. Over 3 hours of my life wasted, and the giant *&%^$ did not make up for it.

    Reply
  • 10. Jenni  |  March 30, 2009 at 4:14 am

    I would have been furious and throwing a huge tantrum too. Even though it’s ruined, what you had finished was beautiful.

    Fingers crossed you get another one finished in time.

    Reply
  • 11. travellersyarn  |  March 30, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    I hope that you haven’t frogged it! I can help you pick it up – come along to the Hong Kong stitch’n’bitch this Friday and I can help you. Bring along needles at least 1 mm smaller than the ones that you were knitting with, and I can help you out.

    Reply
  • 12. Aunt Lorene  |  April 1, 2009 at 9:30 am

    I hope you’re able to take it to the shop and someone there can help you save your lace project…you must have been beside yourself. But I’ve been told everything has a remedy. It’s beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Posts


